For Immediate Release
June 18, 2018

Aundrea Peterson
Utah House of Representatives 

Utah Safe Schools Commission to hold a press conference to present recommendations to increase safety measures in Utah schools 

The Utah Safe Schools Commission to present recommendations of how to improve school safety.

The uncompensated commission reviewed policies and programs directed at increasing safety in schools in Utah. Dialog among elected officials, stakeholders, parents, teachers, community members and students helped develop solutions that will increase safety measures to protect children across the state.

During the press conference, members of the commission, elected officials and stakeholders will review their findings.

Capitol Building, Gold Room
350 State St., Salt Lake City, UT 84111

This event will also be live-streamed on the Utah House of Representatives Facebook Page.

Wednesday, June 20, 11:45 a.m.

Rep. Ray Ward
Rep. Steve Handy
Rep. Mike Kennedy
Speaker Greg Hughes
Members of the Utah School Safety Commission

Members of the Utah Safe Schools Commission:
Clark Aposhian, chairman of the board of the Utah Shooting Sports Council
Dallas Earnshaw, superintendent at Utah State Hospital
John Hoffmann, professor of sociology at Brigham Young University
Terryl Warner, member of the Utah State Board of Education
Keith Squires, commissioner for the Utah Department of Public Safety
Bryan Turner, director of Architectural Services at Davis School District
Heidi Matthews, president of Utah Education Association
Elizabeth Love, student representative – West High School
Isaac Reese, student representative – Brighton High School
Brian Nelson, director at Utah Division of Risk Management
Captain Justin Chapman of the Sandy City Police Department and School Resource Officer (SRO) instructor