Month: June 2018

New House Member Sworn in

Speaker Greg Hughes administered the oath of office to the newest member of Utah House of Representatives,  Kyle R. Andersen, on June 19, 2018.

Rep. Andersen filled the seat vacated in House District 7 following Rep. Keith Grover’s appointment to the Senate to fill the vacancy in Senate District 15.

Rep. Andersen will be assigned to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee, Government Operations Interim Committee and Transportation Interim Committee.

He is a registered certified public accountant and a volunteer coordinator at Family Promise of Ogden. He received his Bachelor of Science in accounting from Weber State University.

Utah Safe Schools Commission to hold a press conference

For Immediate Release
June 18, 2018

Aundrea Peterson
Utah House of Representatives 

Utah Safe Schools Commission to hold a press conference to present recommendations to increase safety measures in Utah schools 

The Utah Safe Schools Commission to present recommendations of how to improve school safety.

The uncompensated commission reviewed policies and programs directed at increasing safety in schools in Utah. Dialog among elected officials, stakeholders, parents, teachers, community members and students helped develop solutions that will increase safety measures to protect children across the state.

During the press conference, members of the commission, elected officials and stakeholders will review their findings.

Capitol Building, Gold Room
350 State St., Salt Lake City, UT 84111

This event will also be live-streamed on the Utah House of Representatives Facebook Page.

Wednesday, June 20, 11:45 a.m.

Rep. Ray Ward
Rep. Steve Handy
Rep. Mike Kennedy
Speaker Greg Hughes
Members of the Utah School Safety Commission

Members of the Utah Safe Schools Commission:
Clark Aposhian, chairman of the board of the Utah Shooting Sports Council
Dallas Earnshaw, superintendent at Utah State Hospital
John Hoffmann, professor of sociology at Brigham Young University
Terryl Warner, member of the Utah State Board of Education
Keith Squires, commissioner for the Utah Department of Public Safety
Bryan Turner, director of Architectural Services at Davis School District
Heidi Matthews, president of Utah Education Association
Elizabeth Love, student representative – West High School
Isaac Reese, student representative – Brighton High School
Brian Nelson, director at Utah Division of Risk Management
Captain Justin Chapman of the Sandy City Police Department and School Resource Officer (SRO) instructor



Utah Honor Flight

Veterans are some of our nation’s greatest heroes. They served during times of war, not knowing if they would ever return. An immeasurable debt is owed to those who served in harm’s way to defend the freedoms we enjoy today. We have a responsibility to show gratitude to our nation’s veterans.

Members of the Utah House of Representatives raised over $13,000 of their own money for the Utah Honor Flight program, which sends veterans to our nation’s capital to tour war memorials built in memory of their service. The trip for some veterans may be the only opportunity to visit the memorials as well as pay their respects to friends lost in combat. Veterans who participate in the Honor Flight program do so at no cost to them.

Rep. Carl Albrecht invited the Utah Honor Flight Chairman Mike Turner and a U.S. Army Vietnam veteran Ron Thorn to visit the majority caucus to share information about the program during the 2018 session.

Each year, the Utah Honor Flight program sends veterans to Washington, D.C. to visit memorials dedicated to the conflicts they fought in. Including the World War II Memorial, Korean War Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial at the National Mall.

“Sending servicemen and women to D.C. to visit their memorials is a great cause,” said Rep. Albrecht. “It’s the least we can do to honor the sacrifice they have given to our country to preserve our freedoms.”

The money raised was given to Turner.

Thank you to all veterans for serving our country and protecting our freedoms. We are grateful for your service, sacrifice and dedication.

Learn more about the program here.


Speaker Hughes and Senator Dabakis to host a news conference to discuss the inland port

Media Advisory
For Immediate Release
June 4, 2018

Aundrea Peterson
Majority Director of Communications
Utah House of Representatives

Speaker Hughes and Senator Dabakis to host a news conference to discuss the inland port

Speaker Greg Hughes and Senator Jim Dabakis will host a press conference to discuss a compromise framework for SB 234Utah Inland Port Authority, and the future inland port in the Northwest Quadrant of Salt Lake County.

Speaker Greg Hughes
Senator Jim Dabakis

Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at 10:30 a.m.

Utah State Capitol – Centennial Room
350 State St., Salt Lake City, UT 84111



June 2018 Legislative Calendar

Stay in the know about what is happening at the Utah State Legislature.  Here is a list of June’s meetings. Click the committee to see the agenda, meeting materials and listen to live and past audio* of meetings.

Thursday, June 7
9:30 a.m. – Commission for the Stewardship of Public Lands – Emery County

10:00 a.m. – Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Friday, June 8
9:00 a.m. – Commission for the Stewardship of Public Lands –  Emery County

Tuesday, June 12
10:00 a.m. – Veterans and Military Affairs Commission

Wednesday, June 13
1:00 p.m. – Child Welfare Legislative Oversight Panel

Friday, June 15
1:00 p.m. – Child Welfare Legislative Oversight Panel

Monday, June 18
9:00 a.m. – Administrative Rules Review Committee

2:00 p.m. – Point of the Mountain Development Commission

Tuesday, June 19
8:30 a.m. – Executive Offices and Criminal Justice Appropriations Subcommittee

8:30 a.m. – Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee

8:30 a.m. – Infrastructure and General Government Appropriations Subcommittee 

8:30 a.m. – Commission for the Stewardship of Public Lands

1:15 p.m. – Business, Economic Development, and Labor Appropriations

1:15 p.m. – Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental Quality Appropriations Subcommittee

Wednesday, June 20
7:30 a.m.  – Victim Advocate Confidentiality Task Force

8:30 a.m. – Economic Development and Workforce Services Interim Committee

8:30 a.m. – Judiciary Interim Committee

8:30 a.m. – Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim Committee

8:30 a.m. – Natural Resources, Agriculture, & Environment Interim Committee

8:30 a.m. – Revenue and Taxation Interim Committee

8:30 a.m. – Transportation Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Business and Labor Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Education Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Government Operations Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Health and Human Services Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Political Subdivisions Interim Committee

1:15 p.m. – Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Interim Committee

Monday, June 25
10:00 a.m. – Federal Funds Commission

*Not all meetings are streamed online.